Our Team

Meet Our People

Stop Foodborne Illness is here to amplify voices that have experienced great trauma from something as base as eating. We are working for those that understand that public health and food safety are synonymous; and, for the courageous individuals that share their personal tragedy to prevent others from having the same experience.

You are not alone — whether you are in crisis, post-crisis or managing the life-long complications that can accompany surviving contaminated food. We, at Stop Foodborne Illness, are humbly dedicated to you. 

We will continue working to stop foodborne illness. 

Our Staff

Click Photo for Bio

Mitzi D Baum

Chief Executive Officer

Maria Krysciak

Director of Operations

Michael Alderson

Alliance Manager

Stanley E Rutledge

Director of Constituent Services + Communications

Kelly Lombardo

Grant Specialist

Jaime L Ragos

Dave Theno Fellow

Board of Directors

Click Photo for Bio

Michael Taylor

Board Co-Chair (with L. Bush),
Former Deputy Commissioner for Foods,
US Food and Drug Administration

Lauren Bush

Board Co-Chair (with M. Taylor),
Constituent Advocate

Mary Heersink

Constituent Advocate

Ben Chapman

Secretary |
professor + food safety extension specialist,
North Carolina State University

Amanda Craten

Constituent Advocate

Rob Swenson

Treasurer |
CPA + MST, Tax Leadership and Training,
Ostrow Reisin Berk & Abrams, Ltd.

Gillian Kelleher

Vice President,
Food Safety + Quality Assurance,
Wegmans Food Markets

Jorge Hernandez

Vice President,
Quality Assurance, the Wendy's Company

Mary McGonigle-Martin

Constituent Advocate

Craig Wilson

Vice President,
Quality Assurance + Food Safety,
Costco Wholesale

Joyce Williams

Chief Culture Officer, AEP Energy

Patricia M Griffin

Chief of Enteric Diseases Epidemiology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Our Mascot

Vicki Love

Supreme Diva